ACC’s Hastert named Phi Theta Kappa Faculty Scholar

Arapahoe Community College’s Erica Hastert has been selected as one of 25 nationwide Phi Theta Kappa Faculty Scholars for 2012, as announced earlier this week by Phi Theta Kappa.

A faculty member in the Mathematics Department, Hastert also serves as the faculty advisor for Sigma Phi, ACC’s chapter of Phi Theta Kappa (International Honor Society of two-year colleges).  COMPLETE LIST OF 2012 PHI THETA KAPPA FACULTY SCHOLARS

The 2012 Phi Theta Kappa Faculty Scholars were chosen from among nearly 3,000 chapter advisors and were selected through a rigorous application process based on knowledge of the 2012-13 Honor Study Topic, “The Culture of Competition”, and demonstrated excellence in teaching or administration. The group will attend the annual Faculty Scholar Conference, sponsored in part by the National Endowment for the Humanities, at Phi Theta Kappa’s Center for Excellence in Jackson, Miss., on Feb. 1-5, 2012.

During the Faculty Scholar Conference, the Faculty Scholars will prepare to serve as facilitators at Phi Theta Kappa’s Honors Institute in June 2012, where they will lead groups of 15-20 honor students in seminar discussions. The Faculty Scholars will also attend Part II of the Faculty Scholar Conference prior to the Honors Institute.

Hastert, who is now in her seventh year as the Sigma Phi faculty advisor, received Phi Theta Kappa’s Paragon Distinguished Advisor award in 2008, 2009 and 2010, and she was named ACC Distinguished Faculty in 2005-06 and 2009-10. Hastert completed her bachelor’s degree (Mathematics / Probability) at the University of Colorado – Denver before earning both her master’s degree (Mathematics and Computer Science) and doctorate (Educational Psychology / Quantitative Research Methods) at the University of Denver.

For more information about Arapahoe Community College, please contact Communications Coordinator Jeff Duggan at 303.797.5709 or

This entry was posted in NEWS and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Comments are closed.