ACC inducts 51 into Phi Theta Kappa

LITTLETON, Colo. (Mar. 20, 2012) – Arapahoe Community College welcomed 51 inductees into its Sigma Phi chapter of the Phi Theta Kappa (PTK) International Honor Society on Saturday afternoon, Feb. 25, in Waring Theater on the ACC Littleton Campus.

The list of 2012 inductees includes: Carly Adinolfe, Joshua Beckley, Anthony Blevins, Oliver Brainerd, Raymond Bruels, Philip Campbell, Jinyoung Choi, Brian Clayton, Auriel Davis, Tymory Davis, Tammie delaBarre, Thomas Dionne, Michael Dominguez, Christina Eilert, Tera Fisher, Karen Forrester, Allison Frias, Andrew Friedrich, Daniel Gilbreath, Stephanie Gomolka, Luz Gonzales, Alexandra Gonzalez, Daniel Grieser, Brian Hall, Danika King, Lisa Kitchen, James Koers, Laurel Logsdon, Jennifer Loucks, Terri Lytle, Randal Maestas, Glen Mollick, Kathleen Oviatt, Crystal Park, Aaron Rauscher, Simone Remley, Teri Ritthaler, Sandra Rodriguez, Mark Schall, Desiree Segura, Marcus Sena, Dara Stieren, Patrick Thom, Vinita Tyagi, Rebecca Weaver, Jill West, Brittany Wheeler, Jennifer Wheeler, Shannon Wilde, Jessica Wise, Elliot Woolsey.

Students at Arapahoe Community college may be eligible for induction into Sigma Phi if they have a 3.5-or-higher grade point average at ACC, have completed 12 credit hours or more ACC, have declared their degree or certificate program and can obtain a letter of recommendation from an ACC faculty member. Once accepted, inductees become lifetime members of Phi Theta Kappa and qualify for exclusive scholarships.

Established by Missouri two-year college presidents in 1918, PTK serves to recognize and encourage the academic achievement of two-year college students and provide opportunities for individual growth and development through honors, leadership and service programming.

In 1929, the American Association of Community Colleges recognized Phi Theta Kappa as the official honor society for two-year colleges. Today, Phi Theta Kappa is the largest honor society in American higher education with more than 1.3 million members and 1,200 chapters located in all fifty states, U.S. territories, Canada and Germany.

The Sigma Phi chapter at ACC was chartered in 1968 and has inducted more than 3,400 members since its inception.

For more information, please contact Dr. Erica Hastert, Sigma Phi faculty advisor, at or 303.797.5832.

This entry was posted in Announcements, NEWS, SPECIAL EVENTS and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Comments are closed.