ACC students Sanders and Spurgeon, President Dr. Doyle garner recognition at Rising Star Luncheon

LITTLETON, Colo. (April 8, 2014) – Arapahoe Community College students Eugene Sanders and Heidi Spurgeon have been selected as ACC’s Rising Stars for the 2013-14 academic year, and Dr. Diana Doyle has been named the State Student Advisory Council (SSAC) President of the Year, as announced at the Colorado Community College System’s (CCCS) Rising Star Recognition Ceremony & Honorary Luncheon on Tuesday afternoon, April 8, at the ACC Littleton Campus.

Eugene Sanders, Dr. Diana Doyle and Heidi SpurgeonSanders began his career at ACC in the summer of 2012 and plans to graduate with his Associate of Arts in December 2014. Sanders, who holds a student seat on the President’s Advisory Council, is the President of the Equality Club, Treasurer of the Student Government, and President/Founder of the Knotty Yarn Club. He received a Customer Service Award for his work-study position in the Student Affairs Office and is a three-time, first-place winner in ACC’s Cookie Contest. Sanders intends to continue his education at York University, the University of Toronto or the University of Michigan and aspires to be an international civil servant in human rights and public administration. He enjoys traveling, knitting, people watching, volunteering, testing the limits of mankind and changing the mindset of those around him.  A native of Denver, Sanders attended East High School.

Spurgeon, who was also named to the 2014 Phi Theta Kappa All-Colorado Academic Team earlier this semester, began her career at ACC in the fall of 2012 and will graduate in May 2014 with her Associate of Arts (General). During her time at ACC, Spurgeon has earned recognition on the Dean’s List and the President’s List. She served as Secretary for the Student Government and held two different VP positions (Public and Community Relations, Communications) with ACC’s Sigma Phi Chapter. Spurgeon, who graduated from Arapahoe High School, intends to continue her education at the University of Missouri – St. Louis (Studio Art – emphasis in Art Education). She aspires to teach art, travel and earn a Ph.D. (Art or Linguistics).

Dr. Doyle has been the President of ACC since April 2010. Prior to her appointment at ACC, Doyle served as the Executive Vice President of Learning and Student Affairs at the Community College of Denver. With more than 36 years of progressive professional experience in higher education administration, Doyle has also served in leadership roles at Western Nebraska Community College, Colorado School of Mines, the University of Nebraska-Lincoln and Illinois State University. Doyle was President of the national professional association NASPA – Student Affairs Administrators in Higher Education in 2008-09. In 2010, she received the NASPA Foundation Pillar of the Profession award for outstanding contributions to college student success. In addition, Doyle has served as a member of the Institutional Actions Council (IAC) and Peer Reviewer for the Higher Learning Commission of North Central Association (HLC-NCA) since 1997, including service on the Accreditation Review Council (ARC), Reader’s Panel and Nominations Committee. Dr. Doyle holds Bachelor’s and Master’s degrees from Illinois State University and earned her Ph.D. in Public Administration from the University of Colorado-Denver.

For more information, please contact Jeff Duggan, ACC Communications Coordinator, at or 303.797.5709.

This entry was posted in ADVISORIES, Announcements, NEWS, SPECIAL EVENTS and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *